By Jennifer Eisenbart

Sports editor

At a different invite against some of the best teams in the state, the Burlington co-op swim team still managed to hold its own Saturday.

The squad, with 11 top-10 finishes, took fifth at the meet.

Host Waukesha South/Mukwonago won in a rout with 442.5 points, followed by Madison Memorial (284), Verona Area/Mt. Horeb (211.5) and Muskego (210).

Burlington scored 193 points.

“I think it was a good indication of where we’re at,” said coach Ken France. “It sets us in a good position for our final rest at the end.”

Burlington swimmers will start tapering over the next two weeks, depending on what meets they are aiming to post best times at.

Leading the way for the squad was senior Emily Gomez, who finished in the top 10 in her two individual events. Gomez took sixth in the 100 butterfly in 1:02.04, and fifth in the 100 backstroke in 1:01.54.

Gomez also swam the breaststroke on the 200 medley relay, which was ninth in 1:59.39, along with Abby Hansen, Brittany Ehlert and Hannah Meyer.

Sisters Serena and Sara Wanasek enjoyed another strong day in the distance freestyles. Serena and Sara were seventh and ninth, respectively, in the 200 free in 1:56.10 and 1:59.49, while Anna Gomez was 12th in that event (2:00.10).

Serena then took third in the 500 free in 5:14.15 while Sara was fourth in 5:16.24. Anna Gomez was seventh in that event in 5:21.05.

Hansen went on to take 12th in the 100 freestyle in 57.54, and seventh in the 100 backstroke in 1:02.68 in her individual events.

Burlington’s other top-10 finishes came in the final two relays. The 200 free relay of the two Wanaseks, Anna Gomez and Brittany Ehlert was fourth in 1:44.46, while the 400 free relay of both Wanaseks and both Gomez sisters was third in 3:42.25.

On Tuesday, the co-op squad switched up its lineup in a 135-35 win over Edgerton in Southern Lakes Conference action.

Burlington won every varsity event and all but one event on junior varsity, and athletes mostly swam different events against a weaker team.

Among the winners were Sara Wanasek in the 50 freestyle (26.67) and 100 free (57.41), Ehlert in the 200 free (2:11.83) and 500 free (5:57.01), Hannah Duerst in the 100 breaststroke (1:19.20) and Camille Neitzel in the 200 I.M. (2:35.71).